Tornado watch in place for southwestern Manitoba

By | August 25, 2020

Environment Canada says meteorologists are reporting favourable conditions for severe thunderstorms capable of producing tornadoes in the southwestern corner of Manitoba.

The tornado watch, which was issued on Tuesday just after 4 p.m., is in place for the southwestern side of the province, from the area around Red Deer Lake and Barrows, Man., all the way south to the U.S. border.

The weather agency says isolated or scattered thunderstorms are expected to develop later this afternoon over southeastern Saskatchewan and southwestern Manitoba, which could produce a tornado.

This is a dangerous and potentially life-threatening situation, Environment Canada says. The agency advises taking cover immediately if threatening weather approaches.

The area under the watch was deeply affected by a deadly tornado that touched down earlier this month.

Shayna Barnesky and Carter Tilbury died after their pickup truck was swept up by a twister on the evening of Aug. 7 near Virden, about 270 kilometres west of Winnipeg.

Meanwhile, a severe thunderstorm warning is in place for the borderland between Manitoba and Saskatchewan, from Duck Mountain Provincial Park, near the tip of Lake Winnipegosis and the area.

The weather watches are being updated on the Environment Canada website.

Here’s the full list of communities affected by the tornado watch:

  • Municipality of Boissevain-Morton including Turtle Mountain Provincial Park.
  • Municipality of Brenda-Waskada including Medora and Goodlands.
  • Municipality of Deloraine-Winchester.
  • Municipality of Grassland, including Hartney and Minto.
  • Municipality of Two Borders including Melita, Coulter and Tilston.
  • Municipality of Souris-Glenwood.
  • R.M. of Pipestone, including Canupawakpa Dakota First Nation.
  • R.M. of Sifton, including Oak Lake and Deleau.
  • R.M. of Wallace-Woodworth, including Virden, Elkhorn and Kenton.
  • R.M. of Whitehead including Alexander and Beresford.
  • Riverdale Municipality, including Rivers and Wheatland.
  • Hamiota Municipality, including McConnell and Lavinia.
  • Municipality of Clanwilliam-Erickson.
  • Municipality of Harrison Park, including Onanole, Sandy Lake and Newdale.
  • Prairie View Municipality, including Birdtail Sioux First Nation.
  • R.M. of Minto-Odanah, including Minnedosa and Moore Park.
  • R.M. of Oakview, including Oak River and Rapid City.
  • R.M. of Rosedale, including Eden and Kelwood.
  • R.M. of Yellowhead, including Shoal Lake and Elphinstone.
  • R.M.of Ellice-Archie, including St-Lazare, McAuley and Manson.
  • Riding Mountain National Park
  • Rossburn Municipality. incl. Waywayseecappo First Nation.
  • Gilbert Plains Municipality including Ashville.
  • Grandview Municipality  including Valley River First Nation.
  • Mossey River Municipality including Winnipegosis and Fork River.
  • Municipality of Ethelbert including Garland.
  • Municipality of Roblin, including Makaroff Shortdale and Bield.
  • Municipality of Russell-Binscarth, including Gambler First Nation.
  • R.M. of Dauphin, including Sifton and Valley River.
  • R.M. of Lakeshore, including Ochre River and Makinak
  • R.M. of Lakeshore, including Rorketon and Toutes Aides.
  • R.M. of Riding Mountain West, including Asessippi Provincial Park.

View original article here Source