Browaty returns to executive policy committee, Orlikow out as Mayor Bowman shuffles inner circle

By | June 12, 2020

Mayor Brian Bowman has shuffled his inner circle in a rare mid-year shakeup at Winnipeg city hall.

Bowman announced Friday that River Heights-Fort Garry Coun. John Orlikow is leaving city council’s executive policy committee. The Liberal-affiliated Orlikow is being replaced by Conservative-affiliated North Kildonan Coun. Jeff Browaty, who returns to EPC for the first time since 2016.

Bowman punted Browaty from EPC in 2016 when the two had differences over reopening Portage and Main to pedestrian traffic. That sticking point has disappeared after council honoured a 2018 plebiscite to keep the intersection closed to people.

Browaty will become chair of city council’s innovation committee, replacing Orlikow, who will assume the role of deputy mayor.

Coun. Markus Chambers is slated to be the new chair of the Winnipeg Police Board. (Gary Solilak/CBC)

Rookie St. Norbert-Seine River Coun. Markus Chambers, who was deputy mayor, will become the new chair of the Winnipeg Police Board, pending a council ratification.

“Now is the time for leadership,” Chambers said earlier Friday, when he was asked about the pending appointment. 

“We have to make sure the voice of the community is heard as we go forward, in light of what we’ve been seeing in the United States over the last three weeks or so.”

Chambers, who was vice-chair of the police board, replaces Charleswood-Tuxedo-Westwood Coun. Kevin Klein, who resigned from the board on Thursday. 

Bowman also made another switch, handing Daniel McIntyre Coun. Cindy Gilroy the responsibility for council’s property committee. She takes over as property chair from St. Vital Coun. Brian Mayes, who returns to his old role as water and waste chair.

Winnipeg mayors usually shuffle up EPC in late October or early November, prior to council’s annual organization meeting.

Bowman will address reporters on Friday afternoon.

View original article here Source